When your Netbook falls off its Sky-hook

I have an Eee PC 1000 ‘netbook’ that has been with me for a while. It’s not very fast but then I type quite slowly. It’s become a personal challenge to see how long I can keep using it. It’s always run Linux but the latest version of Ubuntu won’t fit into its (ample, in my opinion) 1GB of memory. I can’t upgrade it in place either because it has 2 SSDs, currently configured as / on the 8GB and /user on the 32GB. A couple of days ago my desktop environment went AWOL.

Trying to deal with the space imitations, I’d tried booting it from a Lubuntu Live memory stick. It seemed quicker with LXDE but Lubuntu also has leaner apps than the ones I’m used to, so I decided not to install it permanently. I may find another way to keep my current apps but replace Unity by LXDE. Afterwards, I think I rebooted it to check it was OK but I may have shut down from the login screen. The following morning I logged in and got an empty, frozen desktop display. I couldn’t even open a terminal window but I found I could log in to the Guest account. Odd. I opened a console window from my normal account and rolled up my sleeves. I had a /user (a different one, I later discovered.)

To cut a long story short, the answer was:

$ sudo mount -a /dev/sdb1 /home

My home directory wasn’t there but because it wasn’t it had fallen back to the original /user folder on the system disk. The Guest account logs in on /tmp on the system disk, so didn’t have a problem. Now, I just need to work out why whatever was auto-magically mounting it for me and why it decided to stop.

[ Update: The permanent fix was to find out the ID of my device with
$ sudo blkid

then add the following line to /etc/fstab

UUID=4b18fe5c-2d2a-4d12-938b-a38046a3cf84 /home ext4  errors=remount-ro 0  0

I still haven’t found the hole in the sky where the hook came detached. ]

Leave a Reply

